O Come Emmanuel (2003)

Nominated for "Best Holiday Album" of 2004 by the Lifestyle Music Awards. O Come Emmanuel includes many of your traditional Christmas favorites in new and interesting arrangements. With this album, David captures both the emotion and magnitude of the events surrounding the birth of Jesus, from the haunting Silent Night to David's rousing rendition of God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen.

Compact Disc $12.95

or Order on Amazon.com

The Sheet Music Songbook $19.95 - On Sale!

Sheet music songbook, shipped to you.

iTunes / MP3s

Purchase digital album/songs via iTunes

Purchase MP3 album/songs via Amazon.com


Stream via Apple Music

Stream via Spotify
View/Stream via Pandora Radio

Preview Music from O Come Emmanuel:

Listen to full-length songs on the album to give you an idea of what to expect!

Song Title Buy on iTunes Available Sheet Music
01. O Come, O Come Emmanuel Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
02. Away in a Manger Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
03. Watching Their Flocks Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
04. Joy to the World Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
05. Angels We Have Heard on High Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
06. Silent Night Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
07. Lo, How a Rose E'er Blooming Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
08. Come, Thou Long Expected Jesus Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
09. Coventry Carol Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
10. We Three Kings Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
11. The Gift Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
12. Some Children See Him Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
13. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
14. O Come, O Come Emmanuel (Postlude) Purchase on iTunes Add Sheet Music
Truly Exceptional...

"Being a piano teacher who starts students on Christmas music in early-November in preparation for the winter recital, I'm not always very receptive to reviewing Christmas albums much past Thanksgiving, but David Nevue's "O Come Emmanuel" is truly exceptional. David's retelling of the Christmas story with his solo piano arrangements and interpretations is deeply personal as well as spiritual and inspirational. The fourteen selections include two originals, and all are of a religious nature. David Nevue has a wonderful way of taking a simple melody line and making it full of meaning. His elegant playing style is never overly showy, preferring a direct and honest approach, which takes a lot more skill and heart than pure showmanship takes. Nevue set out to create a Christmas album that was truly something different, and succeeded well. The CD opens and closes with hauntingly beautiful arrangements of the title song, rich in its dark minor key moodiness. "O Come, O Come, Emmanuel" is one of the oldest Christmas carols still sung today, but in capable hands such as Nevue's the song is both ancient and contemporary, full of deep emotion that is ageless. "Away in A Manger" is a song that is often the first Christmas song learned in Sunday School, and Nevue introduces his lovely version with a one-hand melody line, emphasizing the children¹s view of this sweet song. He then brings in some of the other melodies (there are at least 40 melodies that go with this song!) that are often used, making each verse a little different. "Watching Their Flocks" is one of the two original pieces, and is quietly introspective, possibly suggesting the peaceful solitude of shepherds tending to their flocks late into the night - very beautiful. "Joy to the World" opens with a long, improvisational intro and then comes into the song itself at the chorus - a very interesting and effective approach. "Silent Night" is pure peacefulness. "Coventry Carol" is one of my favorites. Nevue again opens the piece with a long prelude that is mysterious and dark, and his interpretation of the piece itself is emotionally charged - a wonderful arrangement. "The Gift" is the second original piece, and it is also a real beauty in its simple honesty and gentle message. "God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen" is the most upbeat piece in the collection, with a jazzy treatment - starting out slowly with a rubato rhythm, and evolving into several variations. Great stuff! "O Come Emmanuel" is one of my favorite Christmas albums now, and I highly recommend it!"

- Kathy Parsons, Solo Piano Publications

Customer Comments...

"I purchased your Emmanuel CD a few weeks ago and it was the most often played of our family's 30+ Christmas CDs during the holiday season. They are beautiful and unique arrangements of the songs. The CD added a new dimension to our holiday season. Thanks very much!"

- Greg

An excellent CD...I highly recommend it!
This album takes some of my favorite Christmas songs and puts an awesome classical spin on them. Especially on O Come O Come Emmanuel, the solo piano is beautifully haunting.

One of the best I've heard
This CD is one of the best I have ever heard. Everyone should listen to O Come EMMANUEL. They'll be glad they did.

MORE Reviews of this album at Amazon.com.